## Kasturirangan to lead syllabus panel

## 12-member steering committee given a tenure of 3 years to draft framework

## SPECIAL CORRESPONDENT

The Centre has started the process to revise school textbooks by appointing former Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) chairman K. Kasturirangan as the head of a 12-member steering committee responsible for developing a new National Curriculum Framework (NCF).

Dr. Kasturirangan also chaired the drafting committee for the National Education Policy, 2020 which recommended the

development of a new NCF. The steering committee has been given a tenure of three years to complete its task, said an Education Ministry statement on Tuesday.



K. Kasturirangan

The last such framework was developed in 2005. It is meant to be a guiding document for the development of textbooks, syllabi and teaching practices in schools across the country. The subsequent revision of textbooks by the National Council of Educational Research and Training will draw from the new NCF.

In fact, the steering committee will develop four such frameworks, one each to guide the curriculum of school education, teacher education, early childhood education and adult education. Apart from Dr. Kasturirangan, others on the panel who had also helped draft the NEP include former Karnataka Knowledge Commission Member Secretary M.K. Sridhar and the Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh Vice-Chancellor T.V. Kattimani, Other academics on the steering committee include Iamia Millia Islamia Vice-Chancellor Najma Akhtar, Central University of Punjab Chancellor Jagbir Singh, and Manjul Bhargava, an American mathematician of Indian origin.

Padma Shri awardee Michel Danino, an Indian of French origin who authored a book identifying the legendary Saraswati river with a current water body, is also on the steering committee along with National Book Trust Chairman Govind Prasad Sharma and National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration Chancellor Mahesh Chandra Pant, Indian Institute of Management-Jammu Chairman Milind Kamble and Dhir Jhingran and Shankar Maruwada from the non-profit sector are also part of the panel.